History Monday:  MDC Part 2

Hi, this is a straight continuation from last History Monday

2005 Parliamentary Election

In 2005 the party “with a heavy heart” participated in the parliamentary election which was against a background of massive violence and intimidation and an uneven electoral playing field. The party won 41 seats of the 120 contested seats. The party split in 2005 due to external interference: a tiny group, led by Welshman Ncube favoured negotiating with Zanu PF while the majority preferred to intensify pressure on Zanu PF for change.

2006 Watershed Congress

On the 16-19 March 2006 the MDC held its watershed congress and substantial resolutions were passed, peaceful and democratic means to push the aged dictator out were to be the hallmark of the future. That congress adopted a roadmap to legitimacy whose signposts and benchmarks saw the final collapse of the Zanu PF monolith and the termination of that party’s political monopoly.

Zanu PF’s demise culminated in Mugabe accepting defeat. He agreed to recognise the MDC and brought himself to a negotiating table to save his face. On 25 August 2008, the MDC officially took control of Parliament and elected the then acting national Chairman Lovemore Moyo as the speaker, a post jealously held that was held by Zanu PF since independence in 1980.

Coalition Government and the Third National Congress

On the 11th of January 2009, President Morgan Tsvangirai became the Right Honourable, the Prime Minister of the Republic of Zimbabwe. With his assumption of duty as head of government, Zanu PF effectively crushed its own spine and has since survived through the control of a mere 37 percent of the organs of the state in a coalition it previously vowed would never be seen in Zimbabwe.

The party held its third national congress in April 2011. Apart from the new National Executive and National Council, Hon Douglas Mwonzora, Solomon Madzore and Abednico Bhebhe rose through the ranks into the Standing Committee. Hon Mwonzora became the Secretary for Information and Publicity; Madzore took over as the youth chairperson while Bhebhe became the deputy national organiser.

The 4th National Congress of October 2014 saw Mr Douglas Mwonzora taking the reigns as the party’s Secretary General while Hon Paurina Mpariwa became his deputy. Mrs Makone became the National Treasurer and Charlton Hwende became the Deputy National Treasurer. Abedinico Bhebhe was elevated to become the National Organising Secretary and Amos Chibaya deputising him after the passing on of Thamsanqa Mahlangu. 
Obert Chaurura Gutu became the party’s information and publicity secretary being deputised by Hon. Thabitha Khumalo


1. MDC (2016) ‘Our History’

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s